The Department of Foreign Affairs within the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and External Trade (MFAET), houses the Ministry's Political Desks, Protocol Department and Treaties and Legal Service Unit. The Department works closely with the Ministry’s other Departments and acts as a focal point for diplomatic relations and discussions with Solomon Islands’ international partners at both the bilateral and multilateral levels.